Dating apps: here’s what you’re doing wrong and why you need to change it immediately

David Andrew Wiebe
3 min readJul 12, 2019

“Dating is online man. That’s where everyone is going” said one of my well-meaning and helpful friends.

I’ve mostly had a love and hate (mostly hate) relationship with dating sites and apps, which I first started using in 2008.

In all that time spent sending messages and swiping right and left, I’ve never gotten a single date. That’s right — not even one.

I will say that I’ve never been consistent with dating apps but during the in between years I was convinced it wouldn’t work for me anyway, so I focused on meeting people in person instead.

Those who I met in real life ended up breaking my heart, which is neither here nor there except to highlight my overall frustration with dating in general. I ended up making some great friends, so that’s something, even if it wasn’t the desired outcome.

But after a recent heartbreak, as vulnerable as I was, I felt it important to start putting myself out there again. I had never fallen for anyone as hard I had fallen for her, but as it became clear it just wasn’t going to work, there was no choice but to keep soldiering on.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.