Lessons from 2 weeks in Vernon

David Andrew Wiebe
5 min readNov 20, 2020
Lessons from 2 weeks in Vernon

With vague (but pleasant) memories of a city I visited three years ago, I set off.

The two-week break would give me ample time to see if some of that magic from summer 2017 could be recaptured.

And most importantly, it would allow me to catch up on the rest I desperately needed.

Here’s what I learned on my time away.

If You Need to Rest, Rest

I knew I needed a break, which is why I went to Vernon in the first place.

When I arrived, though, I realized I was more exhausted than I thought. I’d spent a lot of time resting up before leaving, so I figured I would be in better shape than I was.

And that’s why I didn’t do much in Vernon. For the most part, I stayed in bed.

I was going to do more journaling and reading than I ended up doing. And that’s okay. My most pressing questions, nevertheless, were answered. Sometimes in conversation. Sometimes through reflection.

While resting, I still published every day, and the Life Transition series is a result of that. But that was a relatively small part of my day overall and didn’t add any stress to it.

There isn’t much point in trying to get a lot of stuff done when you’re not even in the right mind space to…

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.