Why I’ll take self-employment over employment any day

David Andrew Wiebe
6 min readJul 25, 2018

I started working from home in 2012.

At the time, most of my time and energy was spent writing blog posts for a music industry startup. The income was good for the work I was doing, but it wasn’t enough.

I had an offer to teach guitar at a music store once per week, so I decided to take it.

In time, my income with the music industry startup doubled, so between the two commitments, I managed to piece together a decent income.

Not that I had worked many conventional jobs up to that point, but that was the beginning of a new season in my life. I started dividing my time between the work I was doing at home and the odd jobs I picked up elsewhere. This gave me time to build my own blogs and websites, too.

Jump ahead to 2016, and I was able to walk away from my side gigs outside to work on my business and writing projects entirely from home. That was a hugely gratifying experience.

Teaching Others How to be Self-Employed

A couple of years ago, I had a friend who asked me how he could set himself up to be doing what I was doing. He wanted to spend more time on his creative pursuits instead of wasting his time at a job.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.