Why You Should Create a “Learning” Folder Now

Retain and use more of what you learn

David Andrew Wiebe
3 min readJun 11, 2021
Why You Should Create a “Learning” Folder Now
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

How much time do you spend on idea generation?

What about reading books, blog posts and articles, listening to podcasts, or watching videos?

If you’re a writer, there’s a good chance your content consumption habits are quite extensive, because you never want to be in that dreaded state of staring back at blank screen, wondering what you should write next.

A lot of people consume. But not many people take notes. Even fewer reference what they’ve learned, and even fewer apply it.

Here’s why you should create a “Learning” folder now.

What Tool Should I Use?

I created my “Learning” folder inside Google Drive.

You can use whatever tool you want, but Drive felt right to me, given that I can create Docs and take notes from any device.

These days, I do most of my reading on my iPad. I still prefer hardcovers or paperbacks, of which I have a few at my current residence, but I left most of my library in Calgary, when I decided to become a digital nomad.

So, I read with my laptop next to me, where I can take notes on what I’m reading.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.